A New Start

Please bear with me as this post serves as my initial foray into the realm of devotional / inspirational writing, and my prayer is that my simple words will encourage those who read them to not only seek God’s healing touch for the horrors and traumas we witness on a daily basis, but to totally let go and turn the healing process over to God to accomplish in His own timing. But first, a little background on who I am and what brings me to this forum:

At the beginning of August I received a contact request via LinkedIn from an individual I did not know but I was intrigued to see he was on the board of an organization called Safe Call Now. After looking into the organization I checked into the possibility of volunteering with them but soon realized that the way they are currently structured would not be compatible with the hours of my current job. The person I spoke with is a Chaplain with Serve & Protect who provided me with Rob Michaels’ name.

Rob and I met while he was in my area for duty as the Chaplain in Residence at the FBI Academy. During this meeting Rob proposed the idea of having me join with S&P and, after taking it to the Lord in prayer and discussions with my wife, I came aboard on August 28, 2014 as a Transition / Recovery Chaplain. My primary responsibility is to provide transition services as those in residential care return from treatment by walking with them as a mentor and getting them connected with a local 12 Step / Celebrate Recovery or similar program, and assisting however necessary as they continue their recovery journey. This chapter in my service to the Lord has been exciting, challenging and, at times, frustrating. While there are still some bugs needing to be worked out, I see a greater purpose in the ‘divine appointment’ that brought Rob and me together. I look forward to serving God and this community through Serve & Protect, and seek to use this forum to encourage those who may be struggling with various addictions and/or addictive behaviors.

For many years, I tried to work out my own recovery in my own strength, never totally turning the process over to God. I would always reach a point where I felt I had things under control and would then take control of the process back from God. I would then slide back into my addictive behaviors and repeat the process of trying to fix it myself again – expecting different results from doing the same old thing (insanity). The insanity that was my life is quite succinctly captured in Proverbs 26:11, which states: “As a dog returns to his own vomit, so a fool repeats his folly” (NKJV).

For now, I encourage each of you to look closely at your life and look for areas of wounding, habits, and potentially destructive behaviors from which you may need deliverance and healing. For those who are already involved in this process, stay in prayer, stay engaged, surround yourself with a strong support network, and don’t be afraid to reach out for help; that call may literally save your life!!

Taking Every Thought Captive!

Scott Pipenhagen
Recovery / Transition Chaplain
Serve & Protect
2 Corinthians 1:3-4

About Scott P.

Scott is a retired Military LEO and a Volunteer Chaplain with Serve & Protect (www.serveprotect.org) where he seeks to provide transition services for First Responders and Military personnel by mentoring and connecting them with local 12 Step or similar Faith-Based recovery programs, local Chaplains, and Trauma Therapists to continue their recovery journey following residential care treatment. Scott contributes these devotions to the Serve & Protect ministry Facebook page: Guns'n'Hoses (https://www.facebook.com/GunsHosesMinistry). Scott has been involved in Faith-Based recovery programs since 2006 and has a Bachelor of Science in Religion through Liberty University and a Master of Arts in Theological Studies through Liberty University Baptist Theological Seminary. He currently resides in Fredericksburg, VA, and can be contacted at spipenhagen@liberty.edu.
This entry was posted in Recovery & Addictions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

